Care Certificate Training for the Work Place  

Training for assessors.

Duration: 1 day plus ½ day feedback.

Cost for 1 training days: £750

½ day feedback: £375

What is the Care Certificate?

The Care Certificate is an identified set of standards that health and social care workers adhere to in their daily working life.

It is designed with the non-regulated workforce in mind, the Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that workers have the same introductory skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support.

The Care Certificate was developed, as part of the Cavendish Review work, jointly by Skills for Care, Health Education England and Skills for Health.


  • Applies across health and social care
  • Links to National Occupational Standards and units in RQF qualifications
  • Covers what is required to be caring, giving workers a good basis from which they can further develop their knowledge and skills.

The Care Certificate is the start of the career journey for these staff groups and is only one element of the training and education that will make them ready to practice within their specific sector. Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, new to care and offers this group of staff their first step on their career ladder, it is also offers opportunities for existing staff to refresh or improve their knowledge.

The Care Certificate sets out explicitly the learning outcomes, competences and standards of care that will be expected in both sectors, ensuring that the Health and Social Care Work Force is caring, compassionate and provides quality care. The Care Certificate standards are listed below:

The Standards:

  1. Understand Your Role
  2. Your Personal Development
  3. Duty of Care
  4. Equality and Diversity
  5. Work in a Person Centred Way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and Dignity
  8. Fluids and Nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding Adults
  11. Safeguarding Children
  12. Basic Life Support
  13. Health and Safety
  14. Handling Information
  15. Infection Prevention and Control


Each standard is underpinned by a full set of learning outcomes and assessment criteria and all of these must be assessed in the work place and demonstrated by each new member of staff.

Aim of the Training

  • To ensure that those responsible for the work based assessment of the Care Certificate understand the assessed content of each of the 15 Standards and how to interpret them.
  • Guidance in how to Plan and run basic training workshops for Care Certificate Learners.
  • To train work based assessors who are unfamiliar with assessing learners in the implementation of assessment practice e.g. Direct Observation, Obtaining Witness Testimony, Questioning and Professional Discussion Techniques, Assignment Marking and Using Work Products.


After the Training

We are able to provide:

  • Ongoing guidance and support to the Work Based Assessor and Organisation as needed.
  • Support the assessor to mark assessments and carry out work based assessment.
  • Provide further Work Based RQF Qualifications such as Care Levels 2, 3 and 4, Leadership and Management for Health and Social Care and Children and Young Peoples Services Level 5, TAQA (Assessing Competence in the Work Place) Award in Education and Training Level 3 and other short RQF Qualifications.